 |
| Fireball |
 |
| Steps to make a fireball |
How in the world did I make that fireball?
Okay, here’s how I did it.
- Create a new Photoshop document that is square with black background.
- Create new layer name it fire
- User eclipse marquee tool to create a selection in the middle, filling out almost the whole canvas. (tips: hold on to shift key + click and drag for a perfect circle)
- Render clouds. (keep pressing command + F until you get the pattern of clouds you want)
- Render difference clouds
- Press command + I to invert the colours
- Press command + L to change the levels. Drag the gray indicator towards the white indicator
- Distort by spherizing the now thunder like image. Press command + F to spherize again
- Stylize it by Find Edges.
- Press command + U to change hue and saturation. Make sure the colourize box is checked. Give the hue 0 and saturation 100
- In the layers panel, drag the fire layer to create a new copy layer
- In the new layer, press command + U again. This time give the hue 40 and saturation 100.
- In the layers panel, change the new layer’s blending mode to linear dogge.
- Press command + E to merge new layer to fire layer.
- Repeat step 2 to 14.
- Now you have two layers that looks somewhat like fire/thunder. On the top layer, change the blending mode to linear dodge and press command + E to merge the two top layers.
- Now you have a layer that looks more like a fireball. Keep repeating step 1-14 and 16 until you are satisfied with the fireball.
Comprende?
 |
| Hair of fire! |
 |
| How its done! |
Wondering how her hair caught fire?
Here’s how it’s done.
- Open the image you want to edit
- Press Q to enter quick mask mode and choose a round hard paintbrush and paint over the hair are. You do not have to be neat. Painted hair will appear red
- When you have covered the entire hair area, press Q again to exit the quick mask mode. Press command + shift + I to invert the selection
- Press command + U to change the hue and saturation. Make sure the colourize box is checked and give hue 0 and saturation 100.
- Drag the layer to make a new copied layer of it. Press command + shift + I to invert selection and go ahead and press delete. Press command + U and give hue 40 and saturation 100.
- Change the layer property to linear dodge. Press command + E to merge layers
- Choose the smudge tool and choose a brush like shown and change the strength at 40%
- From the inside of the hair, give short strokes outwards to give hair a fire effect
And VOILA you’re done
 |
| Water Reflections |
 |
| How is it done? |
The underwater background in my image is digitally generated in photoshop without using any images. This is how it is done
- Create a new canvas and fill it with the gradient tool from dark blue to darker blue. You can choose the tone of your choice.
- Create a new layer and go to Filter > Render > Clouds.
- Then go to Filter > Artistic > Plastic Wrap and apply these settings
- Before clicking OK, scroll down and click on Chrome and apply the settings and click OK.
- With the new layer selected, go to Edit > Transform > Skew and adjust the image as shown to give it some perspective.
- Choose the eraser tool and choose a round brush and set the hardness to 0%
- Erase the edge of the clouds to create depth
- Change the layers preference to Colour dodge
This will create the reflection of water. You can repeat the same steps for the bottom of the sea floor.
 |
| Photo Manipulated Foot |
 |
| How is it done? |
Oh, the beauty of photoshop. Nothing is impossible anymore. Here I changed a flexed foot to a pointed foot to make the girl look like she is floating/flying. This is how it is done
- Open the original photo and create a new copied layer of it
- hit Q to enter quick mask mode. Choose a hard brush with 100% hardness and paint the foot up to the ankle.
- When you're done, hit Q again to exit the quick mask mode. Now, a selection is created around the painted area earlier. press command + Shift + I to inverse the selection.
- Press Command + T to move the foot to the position you want.
- Hit enter to confirm the transform. The original foot will be at the bottom. Press Command + E to merge the layers
- Select the original layer and with the Patch tool, select the original leg
- Drag the selection to any area of the dried leaves.
- If you have noticed, there are two ankles. Using the Patch tool, select the original ankle
- Drag the selection to any area of the foot.
- Press Command + D to deselect.
Now you have the foot manipulated from flexed to pointed
 |
| Wings |
 |
| How is it done? |
The wings used in my images are digitally created by photoshop. To create wings, it is advisable to use a stylus and trackpad as each strand of fur on each feather are created separately in short strokes of brush. This is how it is done.
- The four colours used are as shown. You can use different tones of colour as well. Use a thin brush with colour #1 and create a shape of the wind you want to have.
- Using colour #3 with a soft edged brush, stroke the angle of the wing's feathers. Name this layer Wing Base
- with the opacity at 65%, using the same brush with colour #1, create strokes for the line you created for the shape of the wing
- with a smaller brush with colour #2 at 85% opacity, draw the angle of the feathers
- With same brush and opacity, use colour #4 and paint in the darker area of the wing
- using the Smudge tool set at 45% strength, choose the brush as shown and smudge the wing in small short strokes to soften the wing.
- Create a new layer called Wing Edge. Choose a small round brush with colour #1 and create strokes where you want the feathers to be.
- Create new layer called Inner Feathers. choose a tiny brush with colour #1 and draw the "stalk" of the feathers.
- On each feather "stalk", choose a micro brush and draw each strand of fur for the feather. you can use a wavy line or curved line for the fur. Relax while doing this. It's a major PAIN
- Using the Blur tool, soften the edges
- Go to Wing Edge layer and use a small brush with colour #1 and add in more strands of fur.
- Using the same smudge setting, pull the feather outwards
- Use a thinner brush and fill in the wing with more fur to make it look full. Merge all layers
- With the burn tool, set midtones at 30% and brush it over darker area of the wing
Now you have a wing. Go ahead and experiment with different colour and shape.
 |
| Light Ray |
 |
| How is it done? |
I have created light rays for the nature picture to create a whimsical look to the image. This can be done this way
- With the original image open, choose a light yellow or white colour to create a rectangle.
- Go to Edit > Transform > Skew
- Move the points to make the rectangle small at the top and larger at the bottom. With the shift key held down, drag the middle top point to the opening in the leaves and the bottom middle point to the ground.
- Go to Filter > Blur > Gaussian Blur and apple the setting shown.
With this four simple step, you can get a light ray. Repeat the steps as many time as you want to create more light rays.
 |
| Unicorn Horn |
 |
| How is it done? |
A Unicorn is just a regular horse with a horn. And since there's no real unicorn, the horn has to be created. I made the horn this way
- Using the Shape tool, create a beige triangle as shown
- Using a dark brown, create curved lines on the triangle. The more angle of the line the more curvy the horn will be
- Use a lighter brown and paint it to the sides of the curved lines.
- Use the same dark brown as before and create some dark areas at the edge of the curves as shown.
- Choose a tan colour and paint it in leaving some spots for highlight
- You can also use the beige to make spots of highlights.
- Using the smudge tool, choose a soft round brush with the strength of 25%, blend the colours together to make it look softer.
- Using the eraser tool, choose a hard round brush and erase the edge of the curve to make it have ridges.
- With the smudge tool set up to 60% strength, pull out from the center of the horn to make the ridges more of a spiral.
- Choose the dodge tool and use a brush as shown and set the size to 10-15px. Brush it on the highlighted area to create some texture.
- Use the Burn tool with the same brush, with midtones at 20%, brush on the shadowed area.
- Use the Sharpen tool to crisp the look of the horn
Creating this horn is simple but takes some experimenting to get the best effect needed.